Meet our 2020 Staff Nominees!

Last year saw a record number of entries across all categories for Volunteer of the Year. The judges had to make difficult decisions with such a strong field.  You can see the result of the judges' decision making here!

Dr Shanta Coles (Business Engagement and Knowledge Exchange) has been a youth worker for 25 years.

Dr Joanne Cunliffe (School of Medical Sciences) supports Dentistry students to treat refugees, asylum seekers, vulnerable migrants and the LGBT community.

Claire Harnett (School of Health Sciences) is on the board of trustees for Manchester Central Foodbank, taking specific responsibility for all safeguarding issues.

Jill Livingstone (School of Medical Sciences) helps deliver the older people's programme at Ladybarn Community Hub.

Anusarin Lowe (Faculty of Humanities Office) undertakes several roles including at Greater Manchester Winter Night Shelter.

Jacqueline O’Callaghan (School of Social Sciences) volunteers at a care home, reading to the residents every week.

Dr Judith Omrod (school of Health Sciences) has volunteered over 20 years, and is currently supporting homeless charity Barnabus.

Harriet Bickley (School of Health Sciences) undertakes wildlife surveying and citizen science at Parrs Wood Environmental Centre.

Penny Richardson (IT Services) has created a roll of honour of the former students of the University who dies in World War One.

Colin Steen (School of Health Sciences) is an advocate and campaigner for a greater awareness of autism.

Dr Annalisa Tirella (School of Health Sciences) is an active member of the School's environmental sustainability group.

Dr Richard Unwin (School of Medical Sciences) is Chair of Governors, supports a local boating lake, helps at his local Scout Group and is a volunteer with the local football club.

Katharine Wright (School of Health Sciences) has spearheaded a drive to get sanitary provision in toilets across campus to address period poverty.